A little more than a comment.

I have read a blog this morning http://www.adiosbarbie.com/2013/04/big-enough-to-absorb-the-pain/#comment-30555. I thought I would leave a short and snappy comment. However I was so inspired by what I had read my comment ended up being  quite a long message.

I don’t know that I binge as such, but I am very overweight. I sometimes see my food as an addiction, often liking it to the illness of alcoholism or drug addiction. When I see it like this, I feel very hard done by. It’s not fair, If you are addicted to drink or fags or drugs there are replacement therapies that help you avoid these addictions. When you feel like you are addicted to food you cannot avoid it. You have to eat. This makes an easy excuse.

I had a light bulb moment in one of my recent counselling sessions. It’s not so much about being addicted to food that’s the problem, or even needing to avoid food, like an alcoholic would avoid alcohol. It’s about eating all the wrong types of food.

Portion control certainly plays a part and this is something I do struggle with. But I also identify with a lot of the emotions mention by Lori.

Another light bulb moment that I had yesterday was the impact of my job on my overall wellbeing. The fact that the company that I work for and I have a different ethos means we are incompatible. I had to accept that this was not about my competency. It’s just we have different priorities in our ways of working. It has spurred me on to keep up with the learning a new career in my spare time.

I have started blogging and learning SEO (search engine optimisation). Although some days I have no energy and want to stay hidden from the world, I have managed to find an interest that is engaging, stimulating and a great outlet for my ideas and thoughts.

Can I just say Thank You WordPress. I have used your proof reader and found all the grammar and spelling mistakes that I missed on my original post.

Gosh this is all a bit deep for 7:30 in the morning

About iccle2013

Nearly 40 and starting to blog
This entry was posted in addiction, depression, Diabetes type 2, diet, mental health, SEO, Uncategorized, weight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A little more than a comment.

  1. Lori Blough says:

    Hey, thanks for stopping by Adios Barbie and commenting on my article! One of the things my therapist taught me about my “relationship with food” is that I had become addicted to the process – diet, binge, wallow, diet, binge, wallow – but not really the actual food.
    Also, I totally hear you about the job – I left one a few years back that absolutely triggered me, nearly every day. I would come home so enraged, then raid the fridge and stuff myself while I was cooking dinner, then eat more, just to bury the rage.
    Be well!

    • iccle2013 says:

      I totally identified with your blog. It’s even harder now that I have diabetes, because I cannot snack on fruit. A lot of the low sugar foods are high in salt or fat.

      I am planning on spending a lot of my spare time writing and learning SEO so I can get out of my current job.

  2. I’ve had food issues for more than half my life. It is a hard thing to get control of. Best wishes!

  3. I am sure this post has touched all the internet viewers, its really really fastidious paragraph on building up new
    website.

  4. Excellent post however , I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this subject?
    I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit more. Bless you!

  5. Andra says:

    This website truly has all the information I needed
    concerning this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

Leave a Reply

